Review: “Hearts Through Time” by Marie Higgins

Hearts Through Time

Disclaimer:  A request went out and I responded – “Yes I’ll read and review your book.”  Said book was sent to me (free – thank you) and here is said review.

Marie Higgins, is a local author I’ve met, a lovely person, and the requestor in question.  So, what did I think?

First, let me say, I read the blurb and thought it sounded good.  THE BLURB:  When a beautiful woman claiming to be a ghost from 1912 appears in Nick Marshal’s new office and begs for help in solving her murder, he’s intrigued enough to consider her plea. A scandal that rocked Hollywood almost destroyed his law practice, so taking on a client who insists she’s dead seems a good way to refresh his career. The more history he uncovers, the deeper he falls for the ghost. Abigail Carlisle believes Nick is her heart’s true desire, but how can happily ever after happen when she’s already dead?

It does sound good, right?  Yes and no…. for me.

I like my romance steamy, the steamier and more explicit the better, so while I found the premise intriguing and the writing just fine, I personally had a hard time getting really involved in it because the romance is clean – squeaky clean.  As it should be, since Marie is a christian romance writer and that is the type of romance she writes.  I did not realize this when I volunteered but that’s bad on me.  I am not her target audience. 

If you are into clean, sweet romance then this will be right up your alley.  The premise is cool.  I wasn’t sure how you get a happy ever after with a ghost, but Marie manages it deftly.  There is a murder mystery going on that bring our hero and heroine together and the suspense is handled well.  It took a long time for me to figure out whodunnit and why.  Marie has some beautifully descriptive passages as well.  On the marketing side, I will often buy books (or at least seriously consider them) based on the cover alone, and this one is gorgeous.  So, as I said – if you like your romance clean, you’ll like this.  If you want some sex in there, this is not the book for you.

I thank Marie for the opportunity to read her book and review it.

You can find more info on Marie here:  Marie Higgins  and you can buy Hearts Through Time at Amazon or Barnes and Noble.

5 Comments

Filed under Reviews

5 responses to “Review: “Hearts Through Time” by Marie Higgins

  1. Clancey. I really appreciate your review. I’m glad you liked the story – even without the sex. (grins)

    ~Marie~

  2. I’m glad that we live in an age where we have romance with all heat levels, so no one is excluded. 🙂

  3. Great Review. Me I do not normally ready squeakily clean either, but I loved this book. Great twists and turns.

  4. You could definitely see your skills within the article you write.
    The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

Leave a Reply

